February 1st marks the return in 2017 of our #FirstWednesdayoftheMonth webinar series with a talk by Adrian Stagg.

Adrian is currently the Manager (Open Educational Practice) for the University of Southern Queensland. His career has included over 14 years in both public and academic libraries, as well as positions as a Learning Technologist and eLearning Designer.  Adrian holds a Master of Applied Science (Library and Information Management). His interest in Open Educational Practice (OEP) has prompted the commencement of a PhD at the University of Tasmania focusing on the practitioner experience in the reuse of Open Educational Resources (OER).

The Ecology of the Open Practitioner: a conceptual framework for OEP research

This presentation discusses a conceptual framework for understanding the barriers and enablers of OEP that adapts Bronfenbrenner’s Ecology of Human Development (1979). It is predicated on the assertion that practitioners in the open space operate within a complex, and nuanced environment; and that individual practice is shaped and influenced by the accommodations and limitations of a broader ecology. Understanding the nuanced practitioner experience has implications for normalising OEP, rather than simply and ideologically positioning OEP as a direct opponent of established educational systems.  Likewise, the changing perceptions of the role of teacher in higher education offer opportunities to align openness with modification, reconceptualization, or extension of practices.  It is these external manifestations which the ecology attempts to capture, analyse, and refine as a method of expressing OEP.

This webinar was held on February 1st at the slightly later than usual time of 20.00 GMT / 15.00 EST / 12.00 PST.

A recording is available on GO-GN’s YouTube channel at https://youtu.be/yssnyigiMnM

Featured image: River Barrier by Kirk Siang, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Written by Bea de los Arcos

Leave a Reply